MOT or not?

Home Forums Performance General MOT or not?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

chris-neil
    Participant

Australia

I moved to Australia 14 years ago, I remember the yearly MOT’s I had to get my cars through in the UK.

Im a mechanic so I looked after my own cars, my family’s and close friends cars, presenting cars and repairing what ever needed doing.

Now I live in Australia WA.

Cars and trucks don’t have an MOT or any type of yearly check.

Buses do have a yearly Annual Licence check completed by the DOT.

Each state in Australia is different, some have yearly checks, some don’t.

You can own a car in WA for 10 years or 30 years and never have any repairs, servicing or MOT’s. It doesn’t matter.

The police here think they are the Ministry of transport (Department of Transport, Aussie version)

Problem with that is they yellow sticker everything that’s been modified, from lowered suspension to cone air filters, even fibreglass bumpers. Everything here has to be original or cleared by ADR (Australian Design Rules).

To remove a yellow sticker means ‘going over the pits’.

Most young drivers return vehicles to stock, get them passed over the pits, then put the mods back on. It a vicious circle.

funny thing is, most mods can be cleared if you get a cirtificate for every mod.

A modification that has been found and yellow stickered by the local police will be ok if you pay the government. Lol.

I had a yellow sticker about five years ago, it was for replacing stock tail lights for Altezza LED tail lights, they failed ADR apparently, but a certificate made them safe.

As we all do, I love my RS, best car I’ve had in years, but I have to be careful what I MOD.

I would be interested in hearing what your country does or doesn’t do regarding MOT’s or yearly inspections.

Ford for life but I also own a Maserati

frenk
    Participant

Switzerland