Newbie looking for advice.

Home Forums General Newbie Newbie looking for advice.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

Benji91
    Participant

UK - Wales

Hi all, I’m new to the rs world so forgive my poor terminology on the car. I own a 17 plate mk3 rs . The car is standard apart from a mountune 375 kit installed.  I am looking for a little more excitement from the car, any suggestions on mods or tunes that are compatible with what I have already? Also how is everyone finding the standard ride quality? Any suggestions on springs to get a little more comfort? Any help would be appreciated.

red-leader
    Participant

UK - England

Welcome to the forum @Ben

I have a completely standard RS so can’t offer a lot of help. I would suggest some additional security devices, I have several on mine for peace of mind when I park it.

bobcat
    Participant

UK - England

@ben, hi and welcome 👍

Honorary Member

Benji91
    Participant

UK - Wales

Thank you for the quick response everyone. What kind of security would you recommend?

stu-c
    Participant

UK - England

Hi Ben,

Like red leader says, security is always a consideration. A lot on here will have 3rd party immobilizers, trackers plus disclock and Faraday bags for keys. I have a Ghost system and it gives me great peace of mind.

In regard to upgrades I’m sure many will suggest various manufacturers. Popular ones seem to MSD and Dreamscience. But, to get the most from these you may well need to upgrade your hardware too.

I stuck with Mountune FPM375 as it was enough for me and it’s Ford warranty approved. When I had my FPM 375 done at Mountune HQ, their guys were telling me that once you get to >400HP, they strongly suggest forging of the engine. I know many on here are past that on original engine configurations so that disproves that to some degree but I know some Mountune 400HP cars with STD engines let go as they admitted to it.