Question about 2017 rs headgasket

Home Forums General Newbie Question about 2017 rs headgasket

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author

Jdegroot
    Participant

Canada

Hey guys im new to the rs scene.have a 2017 rs with manufactuer date of 12/16.when i purchased the car a month ago the seller said that my car dosnt need the updated gasket.called a few local dealers and there are no recalls for my cars vin number.

any help would be great and thanks!

hello from alberta canada!

71-bda
    Participant

UK - England

Hi, mines a Dec 2016 build too and had the gasket replaced, check the front right hand part of cylinder head where it joins the block, you can see/feel a portion of the gasket sticking out from the engine maybe 8mm, in this part you should see/feel a small brass rivet thingy with a hole in the middle, that s the latest headgasket.

No nothing.

No Mods. No rockers. Just a chunky knob, thats now been replaced by an RS knob innit.

No tackiness.

Std as Ford intended, but with a space saver wheel and jack and nuts and wheel brace. oh.. and flaps, a man has got to have flaps.

Innit?

Jdegroot
    Participant

Canada

Thanks for the reply.without moving a bunch of stuff its pretty hard to see in there.are you meaning standing in front of car the front right side of engine?

GM
    Participant

UK - Wales

Welcome jordan πŸ‘ you can feel it without removing anything, if you google mk3 focus rs head gasket rivet location.. you should get a pic…. unable to upload pics here at the mo πŸ˜†

or click on this link hereΒ 

Jdegroot
    Participant

Canada

Looks like it does not have the little gold rivet so im assuming its still a mustang headgasket.

that sucks.do i just contact my local dealership and get it done?

grunty-motor
    Participant

UK - Scotland

If you have given the Ford dealer your VIN, and he says there is no outstanding recall, then either your car has already been done, or for some reason doesn’t effect Canadian cars?!?!