Squeaky Brakes

Home Forums Performance Brakes Squeaky Brakes

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author

masrs
    Participant

UK - England

Hi guys,

What’s the remedy for squeaky brakes? It’s happening when I’m using the brakes to come to a stop. It’s ridiculously annoying!

Thanks!

o1turbo30v
    Participant

USA

Pad change is the only permanent fix. I personally went with with Mountune Streets (Winmax), very quiet and virtually dust free, small performance improvement over the stock Brembo pads. I believe Mintex will soon have a set for the RS.

https://www.mountuneusa.com/mountune-Brake-Pad-Set-Focus-RS-Street-Front-p/7036-bpf-a1.htm

adw
    Participant

UK - England

Mine sound like they grind sometimes haha.

Probably try some brake cleaner. But I’m no expert on brakes

Mods:

AccessPort / Stratified tune + STuned extended pops & bangs + custom pop and bang intensity / Boomba Racing short throw plate / DMB inlays / Mountune air filter / Mountune RMM / Mountune Recirc / Milltek Non Res Cat Back

71-bda
    Participant

UK - England

masrs sounds like you have glazed them. maybe try a couple of real hard fast stops? maybe you only do long smooth gentle stops? or are you constantly hard on them? I vary the pressure, i even had them smoking wildly a while back and Ihave never had a squeak out of them funnily enough !

No nothing.

No Mods. No rockers. Just a chunky knob, thats now been replaced by an RS knob innit.

No tackiness.

Std as Ford intended, but with a space saver wheel and jack and nuts and wheel brace. oh.. and flaps, a man has got to have flaps.

Innit?

white-rs2
    Participant

UK - England

Years back you always put a liberal amount of copper grease on the back of the pads to absorb the squealing.

RS Edition.

FPM375 Rocks

The rest of the “M” maps suck

masrs
    Participant

UK - England